top of page
website banner.png

How to Set a Clear Vision

Updated: Feb 26, 2020

To help motivate yourself towards taking action.



In previous posts, I have talked about discovering your what: the things that are most important to you and your why: the values that represent why these things are important to you. In this post, you are going to explore this part further.


Why? Because discovering the reason behind your dreams and desires will motivate you to start taking action. Besides taking consistent action, it is the most powerful tool to get things done.

Through brainstorming and visualization, you will create a clear vision of what you want your life to look like. But most importantly, it will trigger feelings that motivate you to take real action. Imagine that you already achieved what you set out to do. How do you feel? Keep this with you throughout your journey.


Follow the steps below to figure out your why and create a clear vision of your future.



1. Create a vision board


The goal of this activity is to get clear on what you want and why you want it and to motivate yourself towards taking action. The outcome of this activity will represent ‘your why’. Knowing ‘your why’ works as a great motivator, because it gives you a reason to get things done.


Furthermore, putting things onto paper will subconsciously trigger your brain to focus on these specific things, which will lead to more direct actions related to your goals. It will also create the base for setting your goals.


 

TASK: Collect magazines, folders and other materials that contain pictures that you can cut out. Also have paper, pens and glue ready, or anything else you can be creative with. Or collect your pictures from Pinterest or other websites where you can find lifestyle images. Use a program such as Microsoft Word, Canva or Adobe Spark to create your digital vision board.

 

Here are some examples of how to create a vision board:


🗸 Cut out or save every picture that you feel attracted to and make you feel good. 

🗸 Narrow the pictures down to the ones that most represent your ideal future. Your 'why'.

🗸 Collect inspiring quotes and words that represent the goal you're heading towards.

🗸 Remember your goals and dreams from previous activities!

🗸 Glue everything together to create an overview. Keep it simple or be as creative as you like!

🗸 Place your vision board somewhere you can see it every day.



Have a look at my vision board for 2020!

(Images from Pinterest, design from Canva, created with Adobe Spark)


2. Write a list of affirmations


Repeating a list of affirmations every day can help you strengthen your focus. This can be a focus towards certain actions or a focus on how you want to feel and who you want to become. 


Where focus goes, energy flows. 

Before starting your hard work on a business project or self-care goal, figure out what you really want out of it. Creating a list of feelings, achievements and goals for the future and reading them out loud as if they are already a reality can help create greater focus and increased commitment. 


 

TASK: Write a list of affirmations that represent who you want to be, how you want to feel and what you want to achieve. Strengthen your focus by reading this list every day and let it help you to commit to your goals and reach greater results.

 

Examples:


🗸 I feel energetic and enthusiastic about life.

🗸 I am healthy and wealthy.

🗸 My body is vibrant with health and positivity.

🗸 My heart is full of love, light and positivity.

🗸 Positive energy flows through me.

🗸 I am determined and take action with confidence and enthusiasm.

🗸 I am the architect of my life.



3. Start a manifestation journal


For me, manifestation means visualizing my ideal life as if it’s already real, thereby enhancing my focus and desired feelings. I imagine what my life would look like if I achieved all my goals. I think about where I’m waking up, how I’m spending my day, in what kind of environment I am, and the people around me. And most importantly, I focus on how I feel. By creating a picture in my mind as clearly as possible, I keep reminding myself of what will wait for me in the future when I take action at this very moment. 


 

TASK: Close your eyes and imagine your desired life. You can also use your vision board and list of affirmations from the previous activities as examples. Write down the things you're imagining. Think of all the things you would do, see, hear and feel. You can write down as many details that come to mind, and write as if it’s already real...


You can use bullet points, create a story or just write down whatever pops into your head. Continue this activity in a journal where you visualize your future as if it's already happening right now. Write in your journal regularly to remind yourself of your why.

 

Here are a couple of questions to help you on your way:


🗸 What goal(s) have you achieved?

🗸 Where are you? What do your surroundings look like?

🗸 Who is with you? 

🗸 What are you wearing?

🗸 How are you feeling?

🗸 How are you behaving?

🗸What are you doing?



➳ Download this Printable here

Vision printable worksheet













Checklist


☐ Create a vision board.

☐ Write a list of affirmations and read them out loud every day.

☐ Start a manifestation journal (and keep it!)



Download the complete Lifestyle Planning Checklist (and other goodies) for FREE by signing up here.

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page